919-733-9380
Mon-Fri • 8-5

Board, Staff & Committees

In response to the public health crisis associated with the Coronavirus, the NC Board of Funeral Service has closed the office suite at 1033 Wade Avenue in Raleigh, NC to visitors until further notice. Board staff are also subject to telework arrangements and not on-site unless necessary. Even though we are taking all necessary precautions to assure our safety and well-being during this time of crisis, we are continuing our services to licensees and the public through emails and telephone calls. We appreciate your patience and regret any inconvenience to you. Please check the Coronavirus Advisory page on this website for information on the impact of the virus on the funeral service profession. Licensees should check email accounts for daily advisories from the Board regarding critical information pertaining to funeral service. Thank you.

Board Members and Staff

Our staff can be reached @ 919-733-9380.

2020 Board Officers

President Mark Blake (2022)
Vice President Don Brown (2022)
Secretary Chris Watson (2020)

2020 Board Members

Valdus T. Lockhart (2020) Craig Olive (2020)
Stephen Herndon (2020) Public Member – Open Seat
Dr. Steven L. Lyons (2023) Hubert Saunders (2022)

Terms expire on December 31 of the year indicated by parenthesis. Mr. Olive is a public member appointee.

Board Staff    

Administration

Executive Director Stephen E. Davis sdavis@ncbfs.org
Assistant Director Amy Mauldin amauldin@ncbfs.org
Compliance Officer Brett Lisenbee blisenbee@ncbfs.org
General Counsel Catherine Lee clee@ncbfs.org
Administrative Officer Karen Loveland kloveland@ncbfs.org
Continuing Education/Director Vacant  
Program Assistant Glenda Ryan gryan@ncbfs.org
Receptionist/Admin Asst Judy Burnett receptionist@ncbfs.org

At-Need Services/Licensure

At-Need Services/Licensure Amy Mauldin amauldin@ncbfs.org

Preneed Services and Mutual Burial Associations

Preneed Program Manager Paul L. Richardson prichardson@ncbfs.org
Senior Preneed Services Specialist Rebecca Williams rwilliams@ncbfs.org
Preneed Services Specialist Phyllecia Townsend-Banks  ptownsend-banks@ncbfs.org

Compliance & Inspections

Brett Lisenbee       Western Region blisenbee@ncbfs.org
Darrell Cagle       West-Central Region dcagle@ncbfs.org
Karen Davis-Brunson Central Region kdavis@ncbfs.org
Christopher Stoessner North-East Region cstoessner@ncbfs.org
Terri Robinson-McLean South-East Region tmclean@ncbfs.org
Click here for more information on Compliance Inspectors

Web & Network Services

Telecommunications & Networks Digital Information Systems, Inc.

NCBFS Programs & Services E-Mail Addresses

Compliance Opinions complianceopinion@ncbfs.org
License and Permit Renewals renewals@ncbfs.org
Resident Traineeship trainee@ncbfs.org
Consumer Complaints complaints@ncbfs.org
Establishment Permit Applications permitapplications@ncbfs.org
Individual Licensure Applications applications@ncbfs.org